Easter Vigil, Saturday, April 3rd, 2010 Diary Entry

I return from Easter Vigil, Ganymede.

I went alone, because unfortunately Luken doesn’t like church.  I can see why it is unappealing- as a child I found it boring, and as an adult I still find myself judging its dragging qualities and… well, some of the music is kitschy and REALLY not my style.  At least someone was trying to play drums.  But there are benefits I would rather not miss.

So, we began the mass with staring up into the vast expanse of empty space above us- dusk was visible through the ceiling and stained glass as the priest lit the one fire from which several more lights would come- each light a part of the One flame and yet reflected separately.  Each of us lit a candle from this flame and held it for a time through the service, symbolizing,  in the big dark empty space of the house of God, that we would each hold our own light in the darkness and reflect His light and love throughout the universe.  Though we may feel separate or schismatic, we are all One, and One with God, and so also in our Catholic/Universal church.  And when we reflect our light in love we help others to shine.  Through our reflection others become stronger.

Reflection

One and Many light reflections in the universe.

The first reading was from the book of Genesis- Creation.  And so we recounted the creation of light, reflection, the heavens and Earth, the birds and the animals and Man.

Collision

Collision, by paradox828

Another reading told of how God saved His people from slavery, through the use of such tools as a pillar of fire and parting the Red Sea, when he was ready to be rid of golden calves in favor of a sacrificial lamb.  Some people associate this time with an “Age of Aries”.  I suppose we have a reputation for antagonistic violence, too.

lamb

Samaritans and a sacrifice

We chanted into the space.  And also sang kitschy songs… I must not judge this as being less than satisfactory, eh?  They tried their best.  We did all the usual ceremony- standing sitting kneeling singing  and making a human connection- shaking hands and wishing peace upon them.

But most of all as Catholics this weekend we remember the incarnation of the lamb, Jesus, who submitted himself to a very vulnerable moment because of love.

Who-ow-ah-ow do I think I am.. by *myp55

Who-ow-ah-ow do I think I am.. by myp55

We must all be like him, and be vulnerable in our love.  For it is through serving others that we realize the Risen Christ within all of our hearts.  Through Christ, who is the light, omnipresent in us all, we must accept and reflect.  And hey, even if we don’t want to- every soul will surrender to this vulnerable moment.

Stigmata

Stigmata by VisibleCruella

Some people were then baptized- a couple of them Anglicans, whom our community was ready to welcome back of course- the Anglican leader is very upset with our leaders right now- and likely with good cause, as Father said this evening- but we do not dwell on such negativity during mass.  No- we focused only on spreading love, and even though we recognize all faiths as capable of showing one the Truth, these people came to our community because our way is the way for them.  I realize other communities may not be so lucky, for instance whichever communities have had the sleeper priests attacking children, but many shine with the true light, encouraging everyone to share and serve and love.  And so it must be with any religion.

Several were also confirmed into the faith, and baptized by the Holy Spirit.  We recognize the Spirit within each one of us.  And we sang a song about intimacy with God- and how He knows us so well.  Father joked about intimacy between males being so unapproved of by the modern psyche.  We also heard testimonies from those who had just become One with us, as Father termed it.  They were glad to have found a Universal family.

I might be getting a few things out of order.  Damn, Easter Vigil is long.

I like this song; it’s stayed the same over the years so I was able to sing without being lost in the service:

Christ has died, Christ is risen, Christ will come again.  Christ has died, Christ is risen, Christ will come again.  Amen, amen, amen.  Amen, amen, amen.

Resurrection of Jesus

Resurrection of Jesus by Matthias Grünewald

And the Christ IS risen.  Everywhere and in all.  So- let us go and love God and our neighbor, live the teachings of Christ, know Him risen in our hearts, and celebrate.

Previous     Next

~ by korakaos on April 4, 2010.

5 Responses to “Easter Vigil, Saturday, April 3rd, 2010 Diary Entry”

  1. Excellent post both in prose and visually. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your faith.

    • Thank you! I worried it was a little heavy-handed, but who am I to worry.

      Btw, I always enjoy reading your entries too :)

  2. I love to see how different denominations celebrate easter I know for us at http://austinstone.org it was a huge celebration and peaked at the singing of these words, “Christ has died, Christ is risen, Christ will come again. Christ has died, Christ is risen, Christ will come again.” I have been in church all my life but this year my wife and I really separated ourselves from the secular parts of easter, so by the time we made it to the nightly services it was a true “party.”

    • That’s great! I think one of the best ways to celebrate God is through soul-touching music. After all, since we are all One vibration, and He is the beat, it makes perfect sense to spend one’s life celebrating Him in that fashion. I love true celebrations. I love monastic chanting. I don’t love the banal bubblegum soft rock I sometimes hear in church… I’m more a fan of metal. But that’s not nearly as common in services, hahaha!

      And I hear great things about Austin… two of my good friends whom I consider family are from Houston.

  3. […] Vigil 2011 I attended the Easter Vigil service, as I did last year, and many details were the same.  We all lit our candles and stood with them in the darkness of […]

Leave a Reply

 
